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Rules and Regulations 
 

Mississippi State Board of Examiners 
for 

Licensed Professional Counselors 
 
 
Part 2201. CHAPTER 4. Licensure Requirements  
 
Rule 4.1: General Requirements  
 
A. No person shall practice as a Licensed Professional Counselor in the State of Mississippi 

except as provided by state statute and these regulations.  
 
B. An Applicant must be at least twenty-one (21) years of age.  
 
C. The Applicant is a Mississippi resident, pays income tax in the State of Mississippi, or has an 

immigration document to verify legal alien work status in the United States.  The 
immigration document must be current and issued by the United States Immigration Bureau. 

 
D. An Applicant must be of good moral character. The Board may request endorsements 

attesting to the Applicant’s character, professional integrity, and professional competence.  
 
E. Applicants must pass Board approved examination to be eligible for licensure.  
 
F. Applicants must meet all education and experience requirements.  
 
G. The Board must receive a complete application packet, official transcript(s), and criminal 

background check results prior to the established application deadline for the Applicant to be 
considered for licensure or candidacy at any Board meeting.  

 
H. An applicant may not be in violation of any of the provisions of Section 73-30-1 et seq., of 

the Mississippi Code of 1972, Annotated or any of the rules and regulations adopted by the 
Board.  

 
I. The application process for licensure must be completed within 365 days of the Board’s 

receipt of the individual’s application packet. “Completed” with respect to this provision 
means either Board approved for candidacy or Board approved for licensure (as appropriate). 
As stipulated in Rule 2.3(C), an individual who has not completed the application process 
within the 365 days’ time frame must pay a Reapplication Fee in order to reactivate his/her to 
continue the application process. As stipulated in Rule 9.1(E) (Application Process), 
incomplete applications will be kept on file for two (2) years, after which time they will be 
destroyed.  

 
J. Periodically, this document, the Rules, Regulations and Application for the Mississippi State 

Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional Counselors, is updated and/or revised. The 
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Applicant/Candidate/Licensee must comply with the most current version of this document, 
and it is the responsibility of the Applicant to ensure that he/she has the most current 
version(s) of application documents accepted by the LPC Board. Additionally, the 
Applicant/Candidate/Licensee is responsible for all provisions listed in the most current 
Rules and Regulations and Application Guidelines. The Rules and Regulations may be 
downloaded from the Board’s website www.lpc.ms.gov.   

 
K. The Board shall require state and national criminal background check, to include consulting 

sex offender registries, through the Department of Public Safety for each first time Applicant 
for licensure as well as Licensees seeking renewal, every six years, to be calculated based on 
the Licensee’s initial date of licensure. 
 
1. For purposes of these background checks, “good moral character” shall be established by 

an absence of felony convictions or convictions for misdemeanors involving moral 
turpitude.  
 

2. The background check shall conform to the applicable federal standards and shall include 
the taking of fingerprints. 
 

3. The Applicant shall sign a release of information to the Board and shall be responsible 
for the payment of the fee associated with the criminal background check. 
 

4. Upon completion of the background check, the Department of Public Safety shall 
forward to the Board all releasable information obtained concerning the Applicant or 
Licensee. 
 

5. No person shall be eligible to receive or hold a license issued by the Board if that person 
has pled guilty or nolo contendre to or has been found guilty of any felony or 
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude.  
 

6. Upon receipt of information from the Department of Public Safety that a person has pled 
guilty or nolo contendre to or found guilty of any felony or misdemeanor involving moral 
turpitude, the Board shall immediately deny licensure or refuse renewal of license. 
 

7. The provisions of Rule 4.1(K)(5) and Rule 4.1(K)(6) above may be waived by the Board 
upon request of the affected applicant for licensure or the person holding a license subject 
to revocation. The request shall be for a show cause hearing within ten (10) days, which 
shall be conducted pursuant to the process set out in the Regulations providing for the 
Board complaints process. 
 

8. Circumstances for which a waiver may be granted shall include, but not be limited to, the 
following: 

 
a. The age at which the crime was committed; 

 
b. The circumstances surrounding the crime; 
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c. The length of time since the crime; 

 
d. Subsequent work history; 

 
e. Employment references; 

 
f. Character references; and 

 
g. Other evidence demonstrating that the applicant does not pose a threat to the health or 

safety of the public. 
 

9. There will be no waiver opportunities for any conviction involving Child Abuse or Abuse 
of a Vulnerable Adult. 

 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-9 &73-30-21 (Rev. 2008) 
 
Rule 4.2: Education Requirements  
 
The following is a list of education requirements that all applicants must meet in order to be 
licensed:  
 
A. Sixty (60) semester hours or ninety (90) quarter hours of graduate study.  

Effective 2017 the Board will only accept sixty (60) hour masters degree programs, and 
those programs shall be CACREP degree programs or degree programs with the word 
counseling in its title, and meet the structure of CACREP as it specifically pertains to the 
twelve (12) courses specified in Rule 4.2.C, as part of sixty (60) semester hours that are 
required for completion of the degree or having earned a doctoral or educational specialist 
degree primarily in a counseling, guidance, or related field, which meets similar standards as 
specified above. 

 
B. A graduate program related to counselor education is defined as one that contains course work in 

all of the following areas. Each applicant must have completed a three (3) hour semester course 
or its equivalent in each of the following areas:   

 
1. Human Growth and Development - Course work includes studies that provide a broad 

understanding of the nature and needs of individuals at all levels of development, normal 
and abnormal human behavior, personality theory, life-span theory, and learning theory 
within cultural contexts. Emphasis is placed on psychological approaches used to explain, 
predict, and modify human behavior.  

 
2. Social and Cultural Foundations - Course work includes studies that provide a broad 

understanding of societal changes and trends in human roles, societal subgroups, social 
mores, interaction patterns, and multicultural and pluralistic trends in differing lifestyles, 
and major societal concerns including stress, person abuse, substance abuse, 
discrimination, and methods for alleviating these concerns.  
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3. Counseling and Psychotherapy Skills - Course work includes studies that provide a broad 
understanding of philosophic bases of helping processes, counseling theories and their 
applications, basic and advanced helping skills, consultation theories and their 
application, client and helper self-understanding and self-development, and facilitation of 
client or consultee change.  

 
4. Group Counseling - Course work includes studies that provide a broad understanding of 

group development, dynamics, and counseling theories; group leadership styles; basic 
and advanced group counseling methods and skills; and other group approaches.  

 
5. Lifestyle and Career Development - Course work includes studies that provide a broad 

understanding of career development theories; occupational and educational information 
sources and systems; career and leisure counseling guidance and education; lifestyle and 
career decision-making; career development program planning resources and 
effectiveness evaluation.  

 
6. Testing and Appraisal - Course work includes studies that provide a broad understanding 

of group and individual educational and psychometric theories and approaches to 
appraisal, data, and information gathering methods, validity and reliability, psychometric 
statistics, factors, influencing appraisals, and use of appraisal results in helping process.  
Additionally, the specific ability to administer and interpret tests and inventories to assess 
interests and abilities and to identify career options is important.  

 
7. Research and Evaluation - Course work includes studies that provide a broad 

understanding of different types of research, basic statistics, research-report development, 
research implementation, program evaluation needs assessment, publication of research 
information, and legal considerations.  
 

8. Professional Orientation to Counseling or Ethics - Course work includes studies that 
provide a broad understanding of professional roles and functions of counselors, 
professional goals and objectives, professional counseling organizations and associations, 
professional history and trends, ethical and legal standards, professional standards, and 
professional credentialing.  
 

9. Theories of Counseling Psychotherapy and Personality – Course work includes studies in 
basic theories, principles and techniques of counseling, and their application to 
professional counseling settings. 
 

10. Marriage and/or Family Counseling/Therapy – Course work includes studies that provide 
a broad understanding of marriage and family theories and approaches to counseling with 
families and couples.  This includes appraisal of family and couples systems and the 
application of these to counseling families and/or couples in pre-marriage, marriage 
and/or divorce situations.   

 
11. Abnormal Psychology and Psychopathology – Course work includes studies that provide 

a broad understanding of individuals’ current mental/emotional states consistent with 
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accepted classifications such as those provided in the most recent edition of the 
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-IV or DSM-5 or most 
recent edition), as published by the American Psychiatric Association; and the ICD—10-
CM (or most recent edition of ICD) and the development of planned, diagnosed - relevant 
interventions, including the goals of counseling, methods of treatment, and means of 
monitoring progress.  
 

12. Internship – Supervised, planned, practical, advanced experience obtained in a clinical 
setting observing and applying principles, methods, and techniques learned in training 
and/or educational settings.  
 

C. Courses completed by applicants that were not part of a counselor education or related 
counseling graduate program are evaluated on a case-by-case basis to determine 
applicability.  

 
D. All applicants must provide official transcripts of all graduate work. Unopened official 

transcripts shall be submitted in the application packet or submitted to the Board directly 
from the approved educational institution.  

 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-9 (Rev. 2008) 
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Rule 4.3:  Experience Requirements  
 
A. Supervision Requirements - An Applicant must document the following supervised 

experience requirements prior to applying for licensure.  The supervisor must be a Board 
approved Qualified Supervisor (BQS).  The art of supervision is defined as assisting the 
counselor in developing expertise in methods of the professional mental health counseling 
practice and in developing self-appraisal and professional development strategies.   

 
1. A total of three thousand five hundred (3,500) supervised hours of counseling 

(approximately 2 years) in a clinical setting post Bachelor’s degree (See Rule 1.4(H)) 
comprised of the following:  

 
a. A maximum of forty (40) supervised hours may be obtained per workweek.  

 
b. Up to one thousand seven hundred fifty (1,750) hours may be obtained while enrolled 

in a Graduate Degree’s program internship or practicum and, although not required, 
where possible the Board would prefer BQS Supervision during internship or 
practicum. 

 
c. A minimum of one thousand one hundred sixty-seven (1,167) supervised hours must 

be in Direct Services with clients and/or psychotherapy service to clients..  Direct 
Services are only face to face counseling including individual counseling, 
couples/family counseling, group counseling, and testing and assessment.  

 
d. One hundred (100) hours of individual face to face supervision are required. Up to 50 

hours may be obtained while enrolled in a Graduate Degree program, including 
internship/practicum. This is based on at least (a minimum of) 1 hour of supervision 
for every 25 hours of supervisee’s direct service with clients.  No more than 50 hours 
of individual supervision received during a Graduate Degree Program will be 
accepted. 

 
e. Group supervision will be acceptable for not more than fifty (50) hours of the 

required one hundred (100) hours of individual supervision. This is based on two (2) 
hours of group supervision being equivalent to one (1) hour of individual supervision. 
Total hours of group supervision should be reported in full and will then be divided 
by two (2) by the Board at review time. 

 
f. Individual supervision provided by multiple supervisors regarding the same direct 

client service hours at the same site during the same time frame will not be accepted. 
 

2. In order to receive supervision by a BQS with the LPC-S credential and obtain required 
experience for licensure, Applicants who have completed the education requirements for 
licensure may practice in a clinical setting that is governed by federal, State, county or 
municipality. Where this is not the case, the Applicant may practice under the 
employment of a Licensed Professional Counselor with a LPC-S on site.  
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3. Individual and Group Supervision provided by a BQS with the LPC-S credential to 
Applicants who have completed the educational requirements for licensure may be 
provided by way of Distance Professional Services under the following criteria only: 

a. The LPC-S must hold a Distance Credentialed Counselor credential from the 
Center for Credentialing and Education.   The credential must be on file with the 
LPC Board office prior to initiating supervision through distance means. 
 

b. Distance supervision sessions must be provided by means of synchronous video 
conferencing only.  Supervision by telephone, email, chat, or other forms of 
communication must be reserved to only emergency communications. 
 

c. The Supervision Agreement submitted to the LPC Board must include 
information explaining the use and limits of distance supervision, specify the 
qualifications of the LPC-S to provide distance supervision, and establish 
procedures for managing the failure of the video communication system. 

B. Effective July 1, 2015, Applicants shall present supervised experience obtained within the 
last (7) years. 

 
C. Supervision Verification forms must be submitted in sealed, signed envelopes in the 

application packet or through the online process available.  
 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-9 (Rev. 2008) 
 
Rule 4.4:  Mississippi Qualified Supervisor Requirements 
 
A. A Board Qualified Supervisor shall meet the following requirements:  
 

1. Be a current LPC. The supervisor must hold a Mississippi license as an LPC.  
 

2. The supervisor must have been practicing mental health counseling in their setting (i.e., 
school, agency, private practice) for at least five years. Two of the five years experience 
must be post-licensing experience.  
 

3. Have documentation/verification of Supervision training [Course work or minimum of 30 
hour workshop]. Supervisors must have successfully completed either options a or b or c 
below.  
 
a. Graduate-Level Academic Training. At least one graduate-level academic course in 

counseling supervision. The course must have included at least 45 clock hours 
(equivalent to a three credit hour semester course) of supervision training.  

 
b. Professional Training. A Board approved professional training program in 

supervision. The training program must be a minimum of 30 clock hours with the 
trainers and meet presentation standards established by the Board.     
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c. Show completion of Approved Clinical Supervisor Credential from NBCC.  

 
4. Have current resume/Vitae on file with the Board. Supervisor will submit to the Board a 

resume either in electronic or print form. It is the responsibility of the supervisor to keep 
the information current.  
 

5. Submit a Philosophy of Supervision.  The Supervisor will have their own philosophy of 
supervision and the models that are used.  They will be aware of the strengths and 
weaknesses of the philosophy and be able to discuss the model and demonstrate 
familiarity with the model.  
 

6. Complete a minimum of one (1) hour of supervision continuing education per year; a 
minimum of two (2) hours per renewal period. Renewal will occur simultaneously with 
LPC renewal. The Board Qualified Supervisor will continually be aware of the need to 
increase knowledge of supervision and how it relates to the counseling environment.  
They will strive to obtain continuing education in supervision.  

 
7. Have documented membership in a professional counseling organization.  

 
8. Shall follow the most recent ACA (American Counseling Association) Code of Ethics.  

 
9. Have no disciplinary sanctions against license  

 
10. Provide a background check, if requested.  

 
11. Shall be approved by the Board; applications will be reviewed at any Board meeting.   

 
12. At the beginning of a supervision relationship, supervisors must submit to the Board a 

signed contract and agreement between each active supervisee and supervisor that states 
requirements of each party. Academic supervisors are exempt from the requirement. 

 
B. A supervisor may not be a relative of the counselor intern. Relative of the counselor applicant 

is defined as spouse, parent, child, sibling of the whole- or half-blood, grandparent, 
grandchild, aunt, uncle, one who is or has been related by marriage or has any other dual 
relationship.  

 
C. Limitations of Supervision Practice.  No Qualified Supervisor may exceed a total of ten (10) 

active supervisees.  
 
D. No person shall serve as a supervisor if their license is expired or subject to probation, 

suspension, or revocation 
 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-9 (Rev. 2008) 
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Rule 4.5:  Supervision Criteria shall include, but is not limited to, the following: 
 
A. Professional relationships 

 
B. Supervision roles 

 
C. Professional ethics 

 
D. Self-evaluation 

 
E. Continued professional learning 

 
F. Etiology and diagnosis 

 
G. Therapist-client relationships 

 
H. Oral communication 
 
I. Written communication 
 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-9 (Rev. 2008) 
 
Rule 4.6:  Examination Requirements  
 
A. Prior to licensure, all applicants must pass the National Counselor Examination or the 

National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination for Licensure or Certification (NCE 
or NCMHCE) published by the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC), Inc. After 
July 1, 2015, the Board will only approve Applicants to sit for the NCMHCE. 

 
1. Individuals making initial application for licensure must meet all education and 

experience requirements in order to be approved by the Board as a candidate.  
 

a. The Board will notify NBCC of each candidate approved for administration of the 
examination.  

 
b. The Board will notify all candidates of approval to sit for the examination. 

 
c. The Board will provide examination registration to those approved to sit.  

  
2. The examination will be administered by the NBCC.  

 
3. Individuals making initial application for licensure who have already taken the NCE, 

prior to July 1, 2015, or the NCMHCE must include in their application packet an official 
VERIFICATION OF CERTIFICATION AND EXAMINATION SCORES report from 
the National Board for Certified Counselors, Inc., or directly from another state’s 
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appropriate licensing board, indicating a passing score. These individuals will be 
considered for licensure without retaking the NCE or NCMHCE.  

 
B. Examination Time Limits  
 
A Candidate will be granted 12 months from the date that the application is received in the LPC 
office to successfully complete the application process, receive Board approval, and sit for the 
examination. If the candidate has not taken the examination by the end of the prescribed 365 day 
period, the Candidate will not be authorized to take the examination until:  
 

1. A reapplication fee, which reactivates the Candidate’s application file for an additional 
one year, is paid; and,  
 

2. The Board approves the individual to take the examination.  
 

3. A Candidate must take and pass the examination by the four-year anniversary date of 
receipt of application to take the examination. Otherwise, the Candidate’s application file 
becomes null; the application file is destroyed, and he/she must reapply for licensure.  

 
C. Reexamination Requirements  
 

1. General:  
 

a. Reexamination will be required if the examination is failed and the candidate wishes 
to continue the licensure process.  

 
b. Candidates wishing to be reexamined need to refer to the specific scenario below, 

which addresses his/her particular situation (i.e. “First Failure”; “Second or 
Subsequent Failure”). 

 
2. First Failure: A candidate may be reexamined within one (1) year from the date of the 

Board’s initial approval to take the examination without paying a reapplication fee and 
without presenting evidence of additional education and/or experience. To be 
reexamined, the candidate must notify the Board in writing.  

 
a. Any candidate not reexamined within one (1) year from the date of the Board’s initial 

approval will not be authorized to retake the examination until:  
 

i. A Reapplication Fee, which reactivates the candidate’s application file for an 
additional one year, is paid; and,  

 
ii. The Board approves the candidate to retake the examination. If the Board 

approves the Candidate to retake the examination, then the Candidate must 
also pay a reexamination fee.  
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3. Second or Subsequent Failure:  
 

a. Second failure: A Candidate who fails the examination two (2) times and who wishes 
to continue the licensure process shall reapply for licensure by paying the 
reapplication fee and must notify the Board in writing.  

 
i. The Board shall review each individual’s written request and make a 

determination whether additional requirements are necessary.  
 

ii. If additional requirements are deemed necessary by the Board, official 
documentation must be submitted to the Board upon completion of all 
additional requirements.  

 
iii. The Board may approve the Applicant to sit for the examination a third time 

or deny licensure. If the Board approves the Candidate to sit for the 
examination, then the Candidate will be notified and the Board will notify 
NBCC of Candidate’s approval to sit a third time.  The Candidate must 
schedule reexamination and pay appropriate fees to NBCC. 

  
4. Third failure: An individual who fails the examination three (3) or more times and wishes 

to continue the licensure process must notify the Board in writing. The individual will be 
subject to reevaluation as determined by the Board on a case-by-case basis.  

 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7 (6) & 73-30-7 (Rev. 2008) 
 
Rule 4.7:  Agreement of Reciprocity  
 
A. The Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional Counselors does not 

presently have an agreement of reciprocity with any other state.  
 
B. An individual interested in providing counseling services in Mississippi must obtain 

licensure through the Mississippi State Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional 
Counselors’ application process.  

 
C. Licensure criteria met by the applicant in other states may be honored by the Mississippi 

State Board of Examiners for Licensed Professional Counselors if he/she substantially meets 
the requirements for licensure in the State of Mississippi. Each criterion will be evaluated on 
a case-by-case basis.  

 
Source: Miss Code Ann. § 73-30-7  & 73-30-15 (Rev. 2008) 
 
 
 
 
 
 


